During its Sweet 16 celebration year, the Tampa Bay Jewish Film Festival (TBJFF) honored its Film Festival Chair Emeritus, Mr. Jesse Starr, with an honorary award for his dedication and excellence to the TBJFF. Mr. Jesse Starr is one of our founders of the Tampa Bay Jewish Film Festival as well as a film aficionado and supporter of our Jewish community through many of his efforts being with Hillels of the Florida Suncoast, The Jewish Community Relations Council and in his teachings for Israel advocacy as well as many other roles on committees within the JCC/Federation organization. The Tampa Bay Jewish Film Festival thanked Mr. Jesse Starr for all of his effort, dedication and ambition and in so doing that the STARR AWARD was born. Since its inception in 2012 the STARR AWARD has been given to community members who are heavily involved with who and continually support the TBJFF.



Congratulations to the 2021 STARR AWARD recipients



Elaine Rubel

2021 STARR Award Co-Honoree,

interviewed by Sara Golding Scher

Martha Margolis

2021 STARR Award Co-Honoree,

interviewed by Loni Shelef

We welcome you this prestigious circle and hope that you enjoy

sharing the honor with the previous year recipients:


2020- Bill Fleece representing Herman Forbes Charitable Trust and Terri & Robert Tankel

2019- Ellyn Kessler & Steward Donnell

2018- Anita & Herm Greenberg, Myra & Robert (z“l) Sann

2017- Stuart Novick & Edward Rudd

2016- Cathy Gardner, Susan Heyman & Michael White

2015- Mindy Solomon

2014- Sharon Feen- Wallace

2013- Rina Donchin

2012 – Jesse Starr